Nomination Filing Begins For Nov 26 Polls In Nepal

Nomination Filing Begins For Nov 26 Polls In Nepal

Oct. 23, 2017, 9:29 a.m.

The process of filing nominations began today for the first phase of parliamentary and provincial polls in Nepal that will be held across 32 districts on November 26, election officials said.

The second phase of the elections to the House of Representatives and State Assemblies for the remaining 45 districts will be held on December 7.

The Spokesperson of the Election Commission, Navaraj Dhakal, said the candidates and the representatives of various political parties filed their nominations in a systematic way.

The aspiring candidates submitted their nominations at the office of the Chief Returning Officer and the Returning Officer opened in their respective district headquarters, Dhakal said.

The first phase of elections will be held in Solukhumbu, Sankhuwasabha, Bhojpur, Okhaldhunga, Taplejung, Paachthar, Khotang, Nuwakot, Rasuwa, Dhading, Sindhupalchowk, Dolakha, Ramechhap, Mustang, Myagdi, Baglung, Manang, Lamjung, Gorkha, Rukum (eastern part), Rolpa, Rukum (Western part), Jajarkot, Humla, Mugu, Jumla, Kalikot, Dolpa, Darchula, Bajhang, Bajura and Baitadi.

Some high-profile leaders contesting for the polls include former Prime Minister and chief of Naya Shakti Party Baburam Bhattarai and Vice-Chairman of CPN-Maoist Centre Narayan Kaji Shrestha, who are contesting from Gorkha-2 seat.

Chairperson of Rastriya Prajatantra Party (Democratic) Pashupati Shamsher Rana will contest from Sindhupalchok-2 while Maoist Centre leader Agni Sapkota is in the race from Sindhupalchok-1. CPN (UML) secretary Yogesh Bhattarai will contest from Taplejung.

From Nuwakot-1, senior Nepali Congress leader Ram Sharan Mahat is in the fray from Nuwakot-2, while another NC leader Arjun Narsingh KC has filed his nomination for House of Representatives. Barsha Man Pun of CPN (MC) and Amar Singh Pun are in the race from Rolpa for House of Representatives.

CPN-UML and CPN-Maoist Centre are having the electoral alliance for the forthcoming elections were as Nepali Congress and Rastriya Prajatantra Party (Democratic) are forging an electoral alliance for the same.

The nominations for the December 7 elections shall take place for the remaining 45 districts on November 2.

The general and provincial elections, scheduled for November 26 and December 7, were declared on August 21 and are seen as the final step in the Himalayan nation's post-war transition to a federal democracy.


More on News

The Latest

Latest Magazine

VOL 12 No.17, April 19-May 2 2019 (Baisakh.06, 2076) Online Register Number: DOI 584/074-75

VOL 12 No.16,March 29-April 18, 2019 (Chaitra. 15, 2075) Online Register Number: DOI 584/074-75

VOL 12 No.15, March 15, 2019 (Chaitra. 01 2075) Online Register Number: DOI 584/074-75

VOL 12 No.14, March 01, 2019 (Falgun. 17 2075) Online Register Number: DOI 584/074-75