UML Govt. Recommended NA Members Sworn-In

The three National Assembly members recommended by the KP Sharma Oli government and nominated by President Bidya Devi Bhandari have taken the oath of office and secrecy on Friday.

March 9, 2018, 1:16 p.m.

Yubraj Khatiwada, Ram Narayan Bidari and Bimala Paudel were administered the oath after the Supreme Court vacated the interim stay order on Wednesday.

According to My Republica, Tara Devi Bhatta, the senior-most member of National Assembly administered the oath at the New Baneshwor-based International Conference Centre (ICC).

Khatiwada, Bidari and Paudel were nominated by Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli led government. Earlier, a stay order had barred the three from attending the swearing-in ceremony. 

President Bidhya Devi Bhandari had administered the oath to Bhatta, Following her swearing in; Bhatta had administered oth to 55 lawmakers on Sunday afternoon. The National Assembly constitute of 59 members.

A single bench of Justice Prakash Man Singh Raut had issued the interim order on February 25 to halt the swearing-in ceremony, responding to a writ petition filed by Gopal Kumar Basnet, Krishna Prasad Paudel and Chadani Joshi, who were nominated as upper house members by the Sher Bahadur Deuba-led government. 

On February 11, the caretaker government led by Sher Bahadur Deuba had recommended the names of writ petitioners but the President's Office sat on the recommendation saying that the government made the recommendation unilaterally without consulting other political parties.

The Oli government then withdrew the names and picked former Nepal Rastra Bank governor Yuba Raj Khatiwada, senior advocate Ram Narayan Bidari and Bimala Paudel-Rai instead. The main opposition Nepali Congress (NC) has accused President Bidya Devi Bhandari of siding with the current government.

More on News

The Latest

Latest Magazine

VOL 13 NO 04 ,Sep.06 –26 Sep., 2019(Bhadra 20, 2076) Online Register Number: DOI 584/074-75

VOL 13 NO 03 ,Aug.23 –05 Sep., 2019(Bhadra 06, 2076) Online Register Number: DOI 584/074-75

VOL 13 NO 02 ,Aug.02 –22 Aug., 2019(Sharwan 17, 2076) Online Register Number: DOI 584/074-75

VOL 13 NO 01 ,July 19 –01 Aug., 2019 (Sharwan 03, 2076) Online Register Number: DOI 584/074-75