Election For New President

Election For New President

March 13, 2018, 2:27 p.m.

All Provincial Assemblies members including Chief Minister, Speaker and ministers, and Federal Parliament members are present as the voting for presidential election is underway in the Federal Parliament Building in Baneshwor.

Prime Minister K.P. Sharma Oli, former prime minister and NC Leader Sher Bahadur Deuba, former prime minister and CPN-UML leader Madhav Kumar Nepal and former prime minister and Maoist Center leader Pushpa Kamal Dahal Prachanda have already casted the voted.

 The country went to polls for presidential election for three times including this one after it turned into the Federal Democratic Republic nine years ago constitutionally. In between two elections of President were held.

Incumbent President Bidya Devi Bahdari, a new presidential candidate backed by the left coalition (ruling CPN (UML) and CPN (Maoist Centre) is running for the second consecutive term in office. Likewise, former lawmaker Kumari Laxmi Rai backed by the main opposition Nepali Congress is her competitor for the coveted position.

A total of 880 members of the Federal Parliament (House of Representatives and National Assembly) and Provincial Assemblies will cast their ballot in the elections (549 provincial assembly members, and 331 parliamentary members).

Separate polling centres have been set up for Federal Parliament and Provincial Assemblies members. Likewise, separate lines have been arranged for male and female voters.

More on News

The Latest

Latest Magazine

VOL 12 No.21, June 28 –18 July, 2019 (Ashad 13, 2076) Online Register Number: DOI 584/074-75

VOL 12 No.20, Jun 07 –27 June, 2019 (Jestha 24, 2076/074-75) Online Register Number: DOI 584

VOL 12 No.19, May 17 –06 June, 2019 (Jestha 03, 2076) Online Register Number: DOI 584/074-75

VOL 12 No.18, May 3 -16,2019 (Baisakh.20, 2076) Online Register Number: DOI 584/074-75